How many times do we hear “so who has been the best footballer to have played in the OMFNL”? I think it is time to visit something a bit different and ask, “who have been the best netballers to have graced the courts in the OMFNL”?

A tough task indeed, however between the end of the 2018 season and the start of the 2019 season a group of selectors got together to announce the best team of the last 25 years of competition.

Selectors were given the task to name a squad of twelve plus a coach – this would include a starting seven along with five interchange players. This is what they came up with after many hours agonising over selection:

Goal Keeper – Paula Cary (North Albury). Played 307 games for the Hoppers that included premierships in 1996, 1999, 2007 & 2008. Paula was inducted into the OMFNL Hall of Fame in 2017.

Goal Defence – Kylie Tyrell/Leslie (Yarrawonga). Still playing and over 250 games has added her sixth premiership in 2022 to her 2009, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2017 triumphs, plus 4 x club B & F winner.

Wing Defence- Kaitlyn Bourke/Cummins (Yarrawonga). A five-time premiership player in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 & 2014. Toni Wilson Medallist in 2006 and was coach in 2014 flag.

Centre – Lindy Burgess/Singleton (Myrtleford, Wodonga, Corowa-Ruth & Wod Raiders). Over 300 games at four clubs – that yielded premierships in 1995 & 1997. Three-time Toni Wilson Medallist.

Wing Attack – Tracy Gillies (Yarrawonga). Named captain of team, two-time Toni Wilson Medallist in 1997 & 2000, two premierships at the Pigeons in 2001 & 2009 and in 2016 was inducted into OMFNL Hall of Fame.

Goal Attack – Rebecca Cameron (Wodonga). Played 352 games, won three premierships 2002, 2004 & 2015. 9 x club B & F and 2002 Toni Wilson Medallist.

Goal Shooter – Stephanie Tyrell/Elliot (Yarrawonga). Won the 2006 Toni Wilson Medal, 5 x club B & F winner and played in the four in a row run of premierships from 2009-2012 with Pigeons.

The players named on the interchange were – Emily Browne (Lavington/North Albury), Anndrea Crisp Sullivan (Myrtleford), Liona Edwards (Wodonga), Sarah Meredith (Lavington) and Sarah Senini (Lavington).

The coach of the side was Fiona Boyer (North Albury) who herself played in four premierships with North Albury 1996, 1999, 2007 & 2008. In all Fiona was involved in 24 premierships across all grades at the Hoppers on coaching panels and was regarded as a brilliant tactician.

There you go not a bad team!! Lets look forward to any additions to the Team of Fifty Years!