remember when - rd 6

Our look back in time this week is 21 years ago to the 2003 season – the very first year the SS&A Club in Albury became the naming rights sponsor of the league and still going strong in 2024.

The Chairman of the league was Greg Claney who commenced his position in 1999 and finished in 2012. His passing in February this year has left a huge hole in the league and community.

Leigh Elder was the General Manager of the league while the directors were Claney, Peter Johnson, Graeme Patterson, Kevin Jones, Phil Nolan, Sam Perna and Mark Booth.

The Ovens & Murray Netball competition was into its 11th season with Paula Cary the President and Jodie House Representative coach. The team were beaten in the semi-finals of the state finals.


Myrtleford won its third premiership in A grade with a stunning come from behind win over Wodonga 40-39, the week before they had defeated Yarrawonga.

Yarrawonga won the B Grade and Albury the C Grade. The A grade league best and fairest (now known as the Toni Wilson Medal) was taken out by Briana Cossar from Yarrawonga. Jocelyn Kennett from Wodonga Raiders won the B Grade and Wangaratta Rovers Natalie Tavare won the C Grade.

The Morris Medal was won for the fifth time by Wangaratta Rovers superstar Robbie Walker four votes ahead of Wodonga’s Ben Hollands with Jamie Wild Yarrawonga third.

Col McClounan from Wangaratta took out the Leo Burke seconds best and fairest while Ben Sanday from Wodonga Raiders won the Leo Dean thirds award.

Leading goal kickers were Seniors – Damian Lang (Wang) 63, Reserves – Rob Panozzo (Wangaratta Rovers 63 and Thirds Daniel Lewis (Wang Rovers) 58.

Corowa Rutherglen came from the elimination final to take out the senior premiership – destroying Wangaratta Rovers, North Albury, and Wodonga Raiders in the first three weeks of finals.

The Roos after winning just two of its first seven games stormed home with its average winning margin in the four finals being 64 points.

Led by 7 goals from best afield Ricky Symes, Matt Mills, Brad Campbell, and Brenden Eyers they beat Wodonga by 35 points – the exact margin of the half-time score.

In reserves, Wodonga Raiders won its fifth premiership in seven years beating North Albury by 18 points. Wangaratta Rovers beat Wodonga by 26 points in the thirds.

The OMFNL interleague side coached by Mick Wilson lost its round one clash against Goulburn Valley at the WJ Findlay Oval, Wangaratta by 15 points in wet conditions.